The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 98

User Info Menu

I read some topics about where to start learning jazz guitar.

I have been playing guitar since 12 years.
    I know my chords etc.

I play mostly acoustic and some electric as well.

I totally like jazz chords, but I want to improve on chord progressions and soloing.

Where do I start?

I made the big mistake in the past to do whatever I like, but I didn't become a better player of it...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The best way to learn jazz guitar is to take lessons from an actual guitar teacher!

What type of lessons?
    Chords, progressions?

I want to make a sort of roadmap on what to practice etc.

User Info Menu

check out the lessons on the Jazz Guitar Online site, parent site of this forum.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Joe Piler
    That's a short answer.
    What type of lessons?
    Chords, progressions?
    Hi Joel
    I am no expert, but what helped me most was learning the fretboard thoroughly, so I know where to find those notes, scales, arpeggios and chords, but since you have played a while you might know this already.

I would have started with something like this:

Find one Jazz tune you like and try to learn it well. Listen to different versions of that tune.

Learn to play the chords of the tune first, then maybe chord melody and finally some improvisation/solo.

To better be able to improvise find a lesson on how to "analyze" a tune (to find out which chord progressions and keys you need to improvise over). I think there is a lesson about this on Jazzguitar.be.

Try to play the chords, arpeggios and scales which "matches" the chord progression of the tune you like.

And if you have the time, you should also practice this:

Arpeggios: