Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Found this in the forum and thought it was a good read worth sharing. As a novice I appreciate the stripped down and focused approach detailed in the article. But I wanted to get some perspectives from some of the more seasoned players that might hang out here too.

Learn Jazz Guitar: How to Get Started Now! | The Strugglin' Guitarist

Any constructive criticism or glaring issues? Seems like a good article.

Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Just another article written by a self proclaimed novice about what he thinks is the best way to wade through all the available jazz bullshit and find success. Maybe it's good advice or maybe his personal observations just add to the infinite time wasting bullshit published by jazz novices on the interwebs....

Thanks for your input. Are there any topics listed in the article you disagree with?

User Info Menu

The article is fine for what it is. A lot of it is common sense advice. Learning jazz guitar isn’t always a linear journey. It’s very easy to wander down pathways that are not appropriate for your level of expertise or that won’t reward you with anything meaningful in the long term.
    In the world of the internet there’s so many you tube videos from people telling you to do this or that, but of course none of this advice is specific for what you may need. It’s possible you’ll find inspiration as often as you’ll find frustration and disappointment.
    Going it alone and learning songs and googling chord progressions will get you a few steps forward but it definitely has built in limitations.
    If a student is serious he needs to find not just a teacher but a mentor, someone who can steer the student around potholes and toward the most rewarding avenues for success. Lastly, there’s no finish line. There’s no point where you feel you’ve arrived. This is one of those life long endeavors.

User Info Menu