Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 10 of 10

User Info Menu

Hey everyone, I'd like to hear your thoughts on my practice routine.

For some context, I've been playing now for around 15 years, but haven't improve much (and probably regressed in some ways) for the past 8 or so years. I learned to play initially accompanying a banjo player / singer playing country and bluegrass music, and then took a couple of years of lessons in classical guitar. I've always wanted to learn to play jazz guitar seriously, and took a stab at it about a year ago, but bit off more than I could chew (I quickly jumped into practicing at least 2 hours a day), which was fun but I quickly ran out of steam. Now I'm trying not to repeat that mistake and plan to practice a minimum of 15 minutes a day. If I feel like doing more than that, great, but if I sneak in only 15 minutes a day, I've satisfied my quota.

Would it be sufficient to practice only these two things, at least to start:

1. Work a bit through William Leavitt's Modern Method. In the past, I've gotten about 3/4 through volume 1. Now I'm restarting section 2 of volume 1 (position playing), plan to work on 3-4 pages a week while doing 1 or 2 earlier exercises per day as review. I'm also using the speed studies for warm-up.

2. Learn standards. Last year I set up a pretty rigorous standard learning schedule, complete with chords, comping, chord-melody, improv, learning the melody in various keys, etc. I wanted to 'perfect' one standard before moving onto the next one. It was too much. This time I want to go for quantity. Just learn the melody and basic shell voicing chords for 10 - 20 standards. I can always revisit them later to practice improv, or just fiddle around with improv if I feel like it.But I think it would help me avoid becoming too theoretical about all this to just learn a bunch of songs and have some fun playing them, rather than trying to perfect one song before moving onto the next one.

What do you all think?