The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 31

User Info Menu

Just wondering what your thoughts are about learning Jazz vs. Rock.

Do you feel that Jazz is much harder, or complicated?

If you were just beginning lessons, would you say in a year you would be a better player in rock, or Jazz?

I'm taking Jazz lessons right now, working chords, and scales. My teacher is very good at not giving a student too much. I've taken rock lessons previously, but I don't feel like I was catching on as quickly as I am with this teacher.

If you could start over, would you still learn rock first?

Just wondering what style is more difficult to learn.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I studied classical guitar for a few years, then played/wrote in pop/rock bands for some years, then started studying jazz.

The classical playing - technique, reading, exposure to excellent repertoire, the challenge of exams - was imo of *much* more lasting value as a foundation for my jazz playing. With hindsight, I wish I'd taken the classical playing further instead of indulging myself playing rock, but hey, I was young and I made a few lifelong friends doing it.

User Info Menu

Imo it is not even close. Rock is very simple music both harmonically and structurally. Not to say that all rock is easy to play, because there certainly is plenty that is very challenging. Rock is mostly based on blues changes, and is diatonic. With jazz, you can be changing keys many times within a tune, and the changes are not I IV V based, unless you are playing a jazzed blues.