User Info Menu

If I would split my time into 33% learning chords (I have been playing for 6 months but haven't really had a good routine.. I know the basic ones on 6th stirng root and 5th string root but I wanna learn 4th string root and also the inversions) 33% ear training and 33% sightreading. Also maybe after the practice I will just play other stuff for fun. Thanks for any replies...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Combine all of that with learning tunes and you're on the right track. Chords in a vacuum are much harder to remember than chords in context of a song.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by AlexMalmis View Post
    If I would split my time into 33% learning chords (I have been playing for 6 months but haven't really had a good routine.. I know the basic ones on 6th stirng root and 5th string root but I wanna learn 4th string root and also the inversions) 33% ear training and 33% sightreading. Also maybe after the practice I will just play other stuff for fun. Thanks for any replies...
    Perfectly reasonable. Both the sightreading and ear training should involve actual songs, not just exercises. That way, you can develop repertoire and fluency on single note lines. You may find it easier to learn chords in the context of songs as well. That way, you'll start thinking about how to connect the chords into progressions with good voice leading.

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

50% playing tunes divide the rest of the time into the other 50% would be my recommendation.
    B+
    Frank (aka fep)

User Info Menu

You are very fortunate to be thinking about these things as a beginner;
    you may avoid years of unproductive or counter productive digressions.

Learn tunes - the ones you want to play fully contain everything you need to know to play them.
    Figure them out by ear - comprehensive approach forming the foundation for everything in Jazz.
    "Bent my ear to hear the tune and closed my eyes to see."

User Info Menu