The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 40

User Info Menu

I am self taught and while I am reasonably proficient there are vast gaps in my basic knowledge. I have been getting into the habit of practicing in every key but was interested to know when you may use and encounter the keys of B#, Cb, E#, Fb?

Are there many pieces in these keys?

Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Practicing in all keys... how many is that?
    Think about that for a bit before watching...

User Info Menu

Traditionally there are 15 major key signatures

Flat Keys

C D E F G A B C ---------- 0
    F G A Bb C D E F---------- 1
    Bb C D Eb F G A Bb--------2
    Eb F G Ab Bb C D Eb-------3
    Ab Bb C Db Eb F G Ab------4
    Db Eb F Gb Ab Bb C Db-----5
    Gb Ab Bb Cb Db Eb F Gb----6
    Cb Db Eb Fb Gb Ab Bb Cb---7

Sharp Keys

C D E F G A B C ----------------- 0
    G A B C D E F# G ----------------1
    D E F# G A B C# D---------------2
    A B C# D E F# G# A-------------3
    E F# G# A B C# D# E-----------4
    B C# D# E F# G# A# B---------5
    F# G# A# B C# D# E# F#-----6
    C# D# E# F# G# A# B# C#---7

C Major is neutral, no flats or sharps

B#, Cb, E#, Fb?

Cb is the only one of these that has a key signature.
    The others appear as notes within the key signatures with 6 or 7 accidentals.
    After 7 accidentals, there is little reason to go any further.
    Cb major 7 flats is enharmonic to B major 5 sharps, guess which one is more in common use.
    C# major has 7 sharps is enharmonic to Db major with 5 flats, same question
    Gb major with 6 flats is enharmonic to F# major also with 6 sharps, fielder's choice.

In a modulation situation is the only time I would choose to write something in Cb or C#.
    I would stick with flats if I started in a flat key, or the reverse, with sharps if I started in a sharp key.