Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

Hi all. Jazz guitar newbie here. I recently did a course at jazzguitarlessons.net (run by Marc-Andre Seguin), and it was really helpful. I'd never done an online guitar course before but it's something I'd like to try again. Doing a self-paced course in which I can watch videos but also post comments and get replies, was very helpful. I also liked being able to progress along the pathway of a course. It felt less isolating than self-study from books, too.

Does anyone have recommendations for online jazz guitar courses for beginners? If not, I will do more courses at jazzguitarlessons.net but just wanted to get a sense of what people can recommend.

PS My apologies if this question has already been asked. I did a search of the forum but couldn't see anything quite like this question.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

I guess I'm answering my own question but I just discovered Truefire and it looks like they have some great courses there.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by RoboTom View Post
    I guess I'm answering my own question but I just discovered Truefire and it looks like they have some great courses there.
    Yes - exactly what I wanted to say. I'd recommend Frank Vignola's "Jazz Studio" channel. Monthly subscription fee is low and there's lots of materials to work on and more added each month (and in between as well.)
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A long journey starts with the first step...and although I have long forgotten about my destination I'm still enjoying the journey.

User Info Menu

Two different guitarists that I've learned a lot from are Steven Crowell and Robert Conti.

Although their extensive courses are physical books with DVDs they are both readily available to answer any questions that you have via e-mail.

Regards,
    Steven Herron