The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15

User Info Menu

Hi

I'm a novice player attempting to master a chord melody version of Autumn Leaves. I am using a pick and I am often missing, for example, the fattest string of a four string chord. So, I slow the metronome right down and start again, not watching my picking hand, just checking chord fingering. Does anyone have any practice routines they can recommend that can build up string accuracy - specifically for chords?

Thanks, in advance - Kev

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

A Modern Method for Guitar book 1, purchase the book with access to the online lessons. Going through the book, you will learn to do rest strokes with a pick, which will teach you how to do this accurately. Probably more than you were looking to do, but it worked for me.

User Info Menu

Focus on that specific problem. Skip the metronome, don't watch the right hand, and practice hitting desired strings with the pick. E.g. go between strings 5-3-5-3-5-3-5 etc. Any combination you'd like, just cover all strings.

What's your right hand's reference? The palm? finger(s) on the pick guard? I'd advice to have a loose and relaxed right hand, but still keep a reference point for the hand. When doing chords (no string muting desired) I keep my palm raised and touch the guitar with ring/index below the strings myself.

@dwparker: thanks for recommendation. I'd not seen this book before - I will take a look.

@Runepune

Ironically, my picking of individual strings is not too bad. It could always be better and I use a spider exercise to improve things. It's the chord targeting that can cause problems. For example if I try to strum a four string chord on, say, the D-G-B-top E strings, I'll miss the D string.

I never look at my plucking/strumming hand and often do as you suggest: use my middle finger as a pivot under the strings.

User Info Menu