The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 42

User Info Menu

Hi I am a newbie jazz guitar player and I have a question about chord structure specifically with the b half diminished seventh chord. Now the chord structure is 1b3b5b7 and my question is there is minor 3rd on the second and third notes but on the 4th note of the chord structure it’s says there is suppose to be a minor 3rd but to my knowledge it is a major 3rd because there is 4 half steps or semitones from the previous note.

B TO D MINOR 3RD
    D TO F MINOR 3RD
    F TO A MINOR 3RD BUT WHY ISNT IT MAJOR 3RD THERE ARE 4 HALF STEPS?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You may be thinking of a diminished 7th chord

User Info Menu

JGilbear,

I know just enough music theory to be dangerous. However, I'll give it a shot.

The Half-diminished chord is also known as a minor 7 flat 5 (Bm7b5). Which to me is more descriptive. In a fully diminished 7th chord (Bdim7) the 7th degree is flatted twice - 1 b3 b5 bb7. A double flat 7th is enharmonic with a 6th.

That's why it's called "half-diminished." The 7th degree isn't fully diminished.

Half dim = stacked minor 3rd, minor 3rd, major 3rd

Full dim = stacked minor 3rd, minor 3rd minor 3rd.

User Info Menu

F to A is a major 3rd. F to Ab is a minor 3rd.

User Info Menu

The m7b5 or half-diminished chord is diatonic to the major scale 7th degree. For the key of C major, the pitches are B D F A, with intervals m3 m3 M3, or relative to the chord tonic the pitches are 1 b3 b5 b7.

The fully diminished 7th chord is diatonic to the harmonic minor scale 7th degree. For the key of A harmonic minor, the pitches are G# B D F, intervals m3 m3 m3, or relative to the chord tonic the pitches are 1 b3 b5 bb7.