The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

I don't think these videos have been posted on the forum before so I thought I'd share them. As a jazz guitar newbie I find these videos extremely helpful and I regularly go back and watch them. Professor Hamilton makes really simple concepts sound hip. It's a great way to get started. Perhaps experienced players will get something out of this too.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Great lessons from a great teacher! This approach will jump-start your jazz guitar aspirations.

wiz

I like that he recommends specific tunes or albums in all the videos. That's also valuable when you start out. Although I guess most people have heard Freddie Freeloader, maybe everyone hasn't specifically listened to Wynton Kelly's comping on that particular recording. It's all good.
    Last edited by Sredna; 11-17-2009 at 02:09 PM. Reason: ie

User Info Menu

some inkling of why you always spoke so highly of your erstwhile professor, jake...

thanks for bringing it, sredna.

User Info Menu

Excellent, thanks for sharing. He presented his ideas very clearly, succinctly, and eloquently. I'm gonna see if he has a book out as well.

(incidentally, every time I see a headless guitar, I think of Holdsworth..)

User Info Menu

I immediately subscribed to his vids when you posted over on the "how to use arps" thread. Thanks again for bringing these to our attention.

User Info Menu

I miss Fred

He's a master

User Info Menu

Jake, are you from UNT as well?

Great to find other eagles on the web.

User Info Menu

I saw the videos and said - I recognize that guy. Then I realized he was my professor at UNT. He just started there when I was a student. Ah the memories

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by minorsecond
    Jake, are you from UNT as well?

Great to find other eagles on the web.