The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 32

User Info Menu

I'm just starting to learn jazz guitar. This progression is: Am -> E7 -> Am -> Am -> Eb7 -> Eb7 -> Am -> D7

The first question is: is it in key of G?
    And the second one is: what is the function of E7 and Eb7?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Looks like it would be A minor, but it is a little weird as written.

The E7 is OK but kind of simple, might hear an E(#9) x7678x there...
    The Eb7 sounds off. Something that does go with Am that has an Eb on the bottom would be an F13/7 (or F13/Eb) like this x6776x as a sub for F9 x87888 or F13 x 8 7 8 8 10

User Info Menu

I think you are referring to the example 3 of exercise 3. I don't have the book available right now but I did a video a while back. Example 3 starts at 1:20 of this video which should give some aural context to the question for those that are giving answers:

Both using my ear and theory this is in the key of Am. It could also be analyzed as being in G as that D13b5b9 is really pulling towards a Gmaj7.

Without seeing the vanilla chords that Mickey is 'jazzing' up... In the key of Am. The Bbm7 - Bbm6 bit is over the Eb7 (correct me if I'm wrong). I hear it going out of the key at that point. And, I see it approaching back to Am7 from 1/2 step above which creates a dominant type of function.

The Bm7 - Bm6 bit is over the E7 (again correct me if I'm wrong). That is a dominant function, the dominant chord of Am is E7, Bm7 - Bm6 is a substitution for E7.

In the key of G. The Bbm7 - Bbm6 bit is over the Eb7 Again, I hear it going out of the key at that point. And, I see it approaching back to Am7 from 1/2 step above which creates a dominant type of function.

The Bm7 - Bm6 bit for the E7 . That is a dominant function of the Am, Am in the key G is the ii chord. E7 to Am can be analyzed as a V/ii (spoken as "five of two").

User Info Menu

one possible: