Jazz Guitar
Learn how to play jazz guitar with our eBook bundle
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: I'm stuck!

1. I'm stuck!

I love practicing guitar. I am a reasonably good beginner. It seems to take forever to learn a song. I just keep playing it over and over again to the point where, at times, start to hate the song! After sticking with it, I start to feel more confident and then gradually I gain a new respect for the complexity of the tune and, low and behold, start to love it again. I'm interested in some feedback on practicing methods. I am currently stuck on a phrase that I cannot seem to master. I can play the rest of the song however get messed up with this one particular phrase that is right in the middle of the song. What do the rest of you do?

Sent from my SM-T560NU using Tapatalk

Play level-appropriate material, for one.

As long as you are doing that, there are a number of ways to get through tough sections. A few are listed below:

First of all, relax. Give yourself a few days and even weeks if needed.

• break it down into pieces or sections. a few notes at a time, etc.
    • play slowly
    • get each little part down
    • put the pieces back together bit by bit until you can play the entire "tough section" smoothly.
    • make certain that you can transition into it from the preceding material
    • make certain that you can transition out of it into the follow-on material
    • bring the tempo back up to full speed gradually

EDIT - a couple more, even though they were implied above:

• work hard
    • get used to some repetition for awhile. don't worry about sounding like a broken record. just keep doing each little part over and over and over until it develops.
    Last edited by Jazzstdnt; 01-13-2018 at 04:10 PM.