The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 37 of 37

User Info Menu

For a while I was a drummer in a Surf-Punk band (Dick Dale meets the Ramones). My job was mainly keeping it steady whilst the guitarist and bandleader deliberately raced ahead of the beat. It created a frenetic energy that really worked with us.

My brother and I played in a hiphop group (this time I played bass and he played kit) and we both played behind the beat (he was fed a click so we never dropped time).

These were two extremes of something I think we all do naturally whether we want to or not; we are usually going to be a little before or behind the beat, even if the distance is infinitesimally small, and the direction (ahead or behind) is as often about our mental state as it is a calculated theoretical decision (IMO).

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Tomcat
    Yes, there is a whole bunch of things when talking "behind the beat" I just tried to cover one way of doing that when playing straight, not swing.

I guess we all guitarists should work more on rhytm and treat the guitar like drum set sometimes, here is the Master of behind the beat and on the beat and everywhere around the beat:
    Absolutely!

User Info Menu

Funny, I've never thought of the time keepers (drums, bass) as being behind the beat. They are the beat to me, so everything else is relative to them. Perhaps I'm misunderstanding the use of the term.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by vsaumarez
    Funny, I've never thought of the time keepers (drums, bass) as being behind the beat. They are the beat to me, so everything else is relative to them. Perhaps I'm misunderstanding the use of the term.
    Look at this: drum set is consisting of many "instruments". The bass drum and hh can play on the beat and snare plays behind, or otherwise. Drums then interact with the bass the same way. Endless possibilities...