The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 40

User Info Menu

Hi, I really hope someone can assist here.

I am at a crossroads with regards to picking; I have been using a plectrum for about 20 years (using both Alternate and Economy picking). These days though I find I much prefer using my fingers? By playing with my fingers I find I have much more feel on the instrument and play much more melodic lines. The downside though is a reduction in speed (I have developed some nice fancy “Show runs” with a pleck over the years).
    I don’t mind compromising these tricks to achieve a much more overall rounded playing style.

My main question is what is the average tempo you guys find yourself playing “Standards” at!

I find I can quite happily play 16 note phrases per bar at 110BPM using my fingers.

And as I said earlier, Playing with my fingers makes me feel more in touch with the instrument!

I am also trying to find a way of having a plectrum on the ready to switch too if needed but so far it all feels very clumsy!

Anyone else ever faced this decision?

Kindest Regards

Eddie Hughes

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm in the same boat, and I haven't found a good solution yet. I prefer my fingers over the pick, but I can't play the head to Ornithology w/o a pick if I want to go over 120bpm!

I don't like the "palm the pick" method, because (a) I'm pretty sure I'll drop it at some point, and (b) being a classical guitarist, I have zero dexterity with my pinky and I need the thumb and three other digits to comp 4-note 7th chords. Right now I use all fingers for slower numbers, and all pick for tunes that are faster. Not ideal, though.

The "put the pick in your mouth" method seems to be pretty ubiquitous, albeit gross.

User Info Menu