The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 28

User Info Menu

First of all, since this is my first post I'd like to mention that I have referenced this forum many times over the years and always found it to be a reliable and high-quality resource, so thanks to everyone here for sharing your knowledge.

I've been playing for roughly 20 years and have had gigs as a teacher on and off. I've built up a very large library of guitar books over the years. I do read music and for a while was actually a passable sight reader (I worked out of books like Tom Bruner's Sight Reading for the Contemporary Guitarist, a really interesting and different approach that uses completely atonal etudes that fall in massvie 6 or 7-fret "regions" instead of position playing) but I was only good as long as there was no key signature and all sharps / flats were notated "on the fly".

I soon had to face up to my Achilles heel - I was very poor at recognizing common patterns like basic scalar motion, ascending / descending 3rds etc... and with any key sig with more than one or two accidentals, I was dead in the water. I had to accept that this was the result of never having worked through a complete guitar method (the Hal Leonard method I taught my mostly beginner students out of at the shop where I used to work was not a serious contender IMO) and decided it was time to take the plunge.

Since a method is such a massive time investment I bought both of the methods I've seen recommended here, so I could make the decision myself - all 7 volumes of Mel Bay Expanded, and the complete 3 volume Berklee Modern Method (along with the Melodic Rhythms and Reading Studies supplements). I ended up choosing the Mel Bay one and I'm currently finishing volume 2.