The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22

User Info Menu

Background: As of August, I have been playing guitar for 30 years! It has been a great activity and hope to do it for many years to come. Unfortunately, like many guitarists out there, I have a lot of technical facility on the guitar but seriously lack in musicianship skills. I went through a bluegrass phase where I jammed with others, but mostly I know fragments and snippits of songs. I am actually fairly adept at arranging chord melodies. This skill is a result of neglecting the other musicianship skills needed to play others. In the last 10 years, as my career and financial maturity has progressed, I have been overly focused on gear. No longer! Time to fill in holes and tackle material that I have wanted to master for years but have not been disciplined enough to do it!

Following is my initial practice plan. I see it as organic and fluid, but the disciplined practice with a specific goal is something I am pledging to do! I plan to use this site as a resource and I have an excellent local teacher who I will take a lesson from now and again for inspiration and fresh ideas. So time to grab my old Gibson ES-175 and Cube 80GX and get started!!

Ideas and comments are welcome, however, keep in mind that the world of music is too large to master in one lifetime. The following is just the little corner I have decided to commit to until the end of the year where I will reevaluate and adjust goals and practice routines.

Every two weeks I will work on a new song from The Real Book (until I get more proficient at the fundamentals and hope to do 1 per week.) I will begin with songs I already have chord melodies for. During the two weeks I will listen to as many versions of the song as I can find.