The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 93

User Info Menu

I have been fooling around with the guitar for a long time, picking up some info here and there. Still I have a lot of holes in my knowledge of the instrument.

Time to fix that! I want to learn once and for all:

• Where the notes are on the fretboard
    • A modicum of sight-reading, so I'm not pecking and hunting every note on a Real Book chart, for example
    • Some music theory, chords, etc.

What is some good method book that I can use to learn "the basics", so I can then proceed to learn jazz guitar?

Thanks in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Check out JonnyPac. He presented his newly published book here, which I ordered. It covers chord building, modes, harmony etc. I am a relative beginner who has had not previous music theory training, and have in my posession several books. I honestly feel that his orderlyness and systematic approach has been good for my. Check out some of his exemples on this site, that ought to give you an idea as to its value for you. Cheers and berst of luck 0zoro

User Info Menu

Thanks for the plug, Ozoro! My book covers the building blocks to create most of the voicings you'd ever need. I hope inspire folks to fearlessly create coherent melodies and harmonies from the fretboard vantage point. It's a good theoretical suppliment to what you are after, though a good CM workbook would benefit you as well. Good luck. PM me if you want to ask questions. Thanks!

JonnyPac

User Info Menu

For improvising/soloing with chords, the Joe Pass Chord Solos book.

Amazon.com: Joe Pass Chord Solos: For Guitar, Vibes & All Keyboard Instruments (0038081001630): Joe Pass: Books

You can check out the first page at Amazon to see what it's about.

For me, the Pat Martino book Linear Expressions really helped get my phrasing together, I warmly recomend it!

User Info Menu