The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 44

User Info Menu

Greetings. I have learned a great deal from this forum but have kept quiet as I'm still just learning jazz guitar basics -- principles of harmony, chord progressions for standards in 2 positions, some basic comping rhythms etc. All rhythm, no lead lines or improv. at this point. This is an intimidating but rich and rewarding space for me to read (given my level). (I'm 50 and only started trying to learn guitar a couple of years ago, so this is all new ... and thrilling.)

So I am a beginner looking for a first acoustic archtop guitar and am deciding between a Loar LH 300 and Loar LH 600. I have read every thread in many different forums I could find on each and watched every video on each. But I have neither read nor heard direct comparisons between these two in terms of tone difference. I had a chance to play an LH 309 just to get a feel for it (though I don't want electronics) but have not played an LH 600. I have a Loar LO-16 which I do like (actually I like better than a couple of more expensive flat tops I have for the first level swing/gypsy four to the bar comping I've been trying to learn).

I'm definitely looking for the dry percussive vintage sound and suspect that laminated back and sides would be fine. But I would be very grateful to anyone who has actually played and listened to both and can describe their impressions of tone differences.

Many thanks for any words of advice about these two!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by gwilder