The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

Hello! I'm quite new in jazz, but have played classical and pop/rock/blues for many years. My interest in jazz has always been there, but I took my first steps to learn something jazzy when I bought my Furch A17, which I do not regret at all! I'm just wondering which amp could be good for this guitar, which will be used mainly in my rather small home studio.

I've considered Fender Blues jr. and Roland Cube 60. One problem with my Furch is the rather strong feedback, which comes on different notes depending on the amp/speaker. So which amp could give the fat, jazzy sound without strong feedback? Do I need a monster amp, or maybe for recording I should depend on software like Guitar Rig?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I had never heard of Furch, so I Googled them. That A17 is one beautiful guitar.

FURCH - výrobce kytar znaèky Furch a Stanford

I use a 1963 Farfisa 100W piano accordion amp with my jazz boxes - Ibz AG95 and Cort Larry Coryell - I get some feedback but often if I alter my seating angle, relative to the angle of the amp, I can cut out most of it.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Banksia
    I had never heard of Furch, so I Googled them. That A17 is one beautiful guitar.

FURCH - výrobce kytar znaèky Furch a Stanford

I use a 1963 Farfisa 100W piano accordion amp with my jazz boxes - Ibz AG95 and Cort Larry Coryell - I get some feedback but often if I alter my seating angle, relative to the angle of the amp, I can cut out most of it.
    Yep, one nice looking guitar for sure,

but

FARFISA!! My first ever musical instrument that wasn't a hand-me-down was a Farfisa organ. It was never going to be a B-3, but it could Woolly Bully with the best of them!!

Nostalgia - it's not what it used to be......

User Info Menu