The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

First post- Nice site, full of good information.
    I've been playing finger style nylon acoustic for several years and lately find myself getting more and more into chord-melody style jazz. I find finger style very conducive to this type of playing on a nylon guitar. I can't help but notice though that all of the "real" jazz players use a pick on an electric archtop guitar...
    I have a new Ibanez artcore that sounds great with a pick but sounds not so great when I play it finger style. Do I have to learn a whole new style of playing just to get the good electric sound?

Thanks,
    John

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi Minor7, I have an artcore too, and also have a classical guitar background - and as a result have a tendency to put the pick down and play with my fingers instead quite often.

I know what you're saying about it not sounding so good, and the solution is to get flat wound strings for your guitar. I just put some on yesterday, and it made an enormous difference. Unfortunately, since the top two strings (E, B) still are not wound, so there isn't any difference there.

Give it a shot, it can't hurt.

User Info Menu

I play both classical and steel string guitars, but mostly steel.

Using nails on the steel can sound almost as bright as a plectrum. I've taken to a "hybrid" style of holding the plectrum and using the other three fingers... gives great versatility! I'm still doing this on my Taylor... but am starting to get serious about auditioning "real" jazz guitars.