The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

Hi - I know there are lots of questions here re: which jazz books are best etc. but I have a slightly different question.

I'm studying music theory to clean up my sight reading. The series of books I'm using are very structured. Lots of exercises and every lesson builds on the previous ones. Going through the series with a teacher is really working for me. As long as I do my homework I'm "getting" the material. The book didn't just show me the circle of fifths and say "learn that".

I'd like to find something similar for jazz guitar. Does it exist?

I've looked at the Mickey Baker books and while the chords are cool the whole thing doesn't have that unified one step at a time program that I like in the theory books so much. Or maybe I haven't gotten far enough along?

Thanks for any advice you can offer and for your patience if this is really the thousandth time someone has asked this.
    Last edited by davelang; 01-17-2013 at 03:24 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I think you're being given more than you think. Like in music school you get the core curriculum and if you learn it you will improve a little and come out of school have chewed up a lot of money and more important time and not be much further along. The students who come out of music school make huge gains are ones who ask themselves what all can I do with this piece of info, what does it sound like, where do I hear others use this info, a boatload of "what if" exploration.