The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 173

User Info Menu

ok... so, my question is: do the 7 modes of the major scale have movable patterns one can practice with backing tracks?

the reason i ask is not laziness (maybe a lil' ), it's because i'm still a beginner with theory and constructing stuff sometimes feel like rocket science. plus, i'd like to train my ear and i wouldn't want to come up with a screwed up pattern or something.

ps: modes also kind of give me a headache... but in a good sort of way they're hard but interesting.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm a long time classical but new to jazz player; I've finally arrived at a system where I'm (1) learning chords to standards, (2) melodies in a couple positions, and (3) ARPS over changes. I'm letting the modes take care of themselves for a while!!

Major, minor, pentatonic, some dorian and mixo, but keeping it simple for now as to not burn out brain!!

Sailor

User Info Menu

One way to learn the modes, and build your theory chops as well, is to learn the ionian mode and then just change one note to build the other modes.

Take any fingering of your major scale, one or two octaves, and then use this forumla to build the other modes.

Lydian - raise the 4th note

Mixolydian - lower the 7th note

Dorian - lower the 7th and 3rd notes

Aeolian - lower the 7th, 3rd and 6th notes

Phrygian - lower the 7th, 3rd, 6th and 2nd notes

Locrian - lower the 7th, 3rd, 6th, 2nd and 5th notes.

If you notice, starting with Lydian and moving down the chart you are only lowering one note each time to produce the next mode.

Lydian - #4
    Ionian - b4
    Mixolydian - b7
    Dorian - b3
    Aeolian - b6
    Phrygian - b2
    Locrain - b5