The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
Posts 151 to 173 of 173

User Info Menu

If someone says to me 'modes' the automatic response is to go through the explanations of scales from non-root to non-root, etc, ad nauseam. But in practice it just means using a (usually familiar) scale in a musical way to get the desired result, like C major over Dm7 rather than F or Bb major. In any case, it wouldn't be D harmonic minor because of the C natural.

Just common sense, really. All they've done, with modal tunes, is taken the Dm7 out of the usual 2-5-1 context. But the same 'rules' apply. And, just to be difficult, as it's jazz, you can still use the harmonic and melodic notes anyway for interest's sake :-)

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Reg
    Yea as I posted after 1st new comment by John Tom, "I'm giving up on Modes". I commented,

"Wise choice, and I'm a pro and get modes, modal and just about anything else with music. Get your technical skills together.... your guitar technical skills.... if you can't play your instrument... all the knowledge in the world won't help you."

But we must enjoy going through the process of venting. I perform with many great musicians that don't get modes or modal and don't care about them. Some are very vanilla, some can really play and many are somewhere in the middle. But most do have their technical skills together. The results are very obvious to musicians, but not many musicians check out live music, so who cares.