The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 84

User Info Menu

Hi, I wanted to ask you guys if you could recommend me any special techniques or practice habits to help me learn the notes on the fretboard smoothly. I have been playing for about 2 years (mostly messing around with tabs, learning familiar riffs, etc), I took lessons for most of that time until recently. I had at one point learned to play Autumn Leaves leading the melody somewhere on the 2nd string, 5th fret, and also one position of e minor scale starting @ the 12th fret (very basic application back then). I was still very new then so chords were very discouraging at that time. For the past few months I have been working out of a book my teacher lent me "The Sprague Technique - Peter Sprague". I have learned the C major scale, triad, and arpeggio, all 5 positions of each (before they repeat at the 12th fret). Only now I feel I won't be able to progress until I can know the notes I am playing on the fly, opening up things like improvisation, and more creative composition. Right now I know the notes for the open position and the first position in C major scale (G-A-B-C-D-E-etc.). My thing is that I am pretty slow at it. I read here Guitar Note Learning - How Do You Memorize The Notes on A Guitar Neck? that it could take a while to learn the fretboard, which makes sense. It also suggested learning the notes by fret. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated, thank you.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

quick way to do it if you have any sort of understanding of he 12 note system.

memorize all the fret markers on your guitar and what notes they are. From there each note is # or Flat depending on which direction you are going.