The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
Posts 151 to 164 of 164

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by jusca
    Have you been playing guitar for a while (before starting Leavitt's method)?
    Yes I actually played for 8 years and then I quit until recently. Now I'm way into building some real firm basic skills.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Just for kicks and giggles, as Austin Powers would say.
    Attached Files Attached Files

User Info Menu

I am new to this series as I decided to learn notation and improve my general playing before diving into the jazz lessons. I do have a biginner-intermediate knowledge of Piano and basic guitar technique, but am new to reading notation for guitar.
    I've noticed that I strugged BIG TIME on the first two solos in this book. However, after watching the DVD lessons explained, I noticed the instructor mentions the chord shapes, and I wrote them down on another sheet, sort of a 'cheat sheet' if you will. I then got through the solos without much trouble after a few runs.

I realize this is a new train of thought....telling my fingers to play multiple NOTES on the fretboard, rather than 'chord shapes'.
    Is this intentional for book 1? Meaning, should I try not to think of the chord shapes for now, or would I be doing a dis-service to myself by at least writing the chord names above the notation? Maybe write them in at first then cover them?
    I'm curious what other people's thoughts are on this.

*Edit* I did notice before some solos / duets that there are chord form warmup exercises that would sort of match up with the next song. This is why I'm a little confused if I should be thinking of chord forms or not. Part of me wonders if the author expects us to just apply the chord forms knowingly.

User Info Menu

The notes were written because a specific voicing was intended. You are to play the notes as written, and only those notes.