The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

generally, when is fingerpicking preferred over a pick, or the other way around?

i generally play in a solo setting so i'm partial to fingers, but i don't want to neglect any necessary pick practice.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It's a personal preference. Many chord-melody players go fingerstyle or hybrid. I've always been a hybrid picker ... comes with my tele chicken pickin' background.

"Neglect any necessary pick practice"? Not really sure what that means.

User Info Menu

I say stick with your fingers if that's what your used to. If you want to use a pick I would definately check out hybrid picking, a mix of pick and fingers.

MW

User Info Menu

i'm pretty much a hybrid guy. i often debate putting the pick down for good, but my soft skin and day job (i'm an art teacher, who probably has to wash his hands 15-20 times a day, often softening up that skin further) get in the way...

as for necessary pick practice, i don't think wes missed out on too much. it depends on what kind of guitar player you want to be.

Hi Guys, Some interesting comments! Like everyone that's posted so far, my feelings are that it's totally a personal thing. I believe that everyone has a musical soul and they are all different. I love and enjoy all kinds of guitar music (and music in general, too), but fingerstyle works best for me. Truth is that all forms of playing are compromises and maybe the trick is to find the method that provides the least negative aspect to your playing. Good luck in your quest to discover what works best for you. Best regards, Mike Michael Joyce

User Info Menu

I play solo fingerstyle - just the fleshy parts of the finger, no fingernails.

Comping gets the finger style treatment as well.

If I want to play just lead over comping, then I use a pick for speed and accuracy.