The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

Hi All, first of all i am sorry for asking such a silly question..
    I am a beginner, enjoying jazz, been studying jazz guitar for about a year (played classical before), and i need some directions about this modal vs diatonic progression based jazz music. In my knowledge the basic difference between the two is the tonality/progression, but how do you approach to play along/improvise in a modal jazz tune?I am a beginner, and have been trying to improvise over a limited number of standard tunes known as diatonic based (ATTYA, blue bossa). Do you have any suggestion for a standard that i should try as a beginner to get my feet wet on modal jazz progression? Appreciate your insights...thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Listen to Kind of Blue for a major dose of modal.

User Info Menu

Miles Davis" Kind Of Blue" is a great example of modal playing!!!
    Try to find good video educational material about modal playing.

User Info Menu

And don't forget "maiden voyage"

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

Thanks you everyone...i will find that records..and hopefully be able to get the feel of this modal jazz..

User Info Menu

I love modal jazz. there are lots of great modal records from the 60's. I hope you get hooked. Good luck!

User Info Menu

Jonny, thanks for the video, nice playin...made me think that i still have way too much to learn ... i am wondering how did you manage to create tension-release on a static modal vamp?was it an alter dom - tonic thing?... again thank you for the video post...it opens up my mind

User Info Menu