The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

I find that i am a "do it till i want to smash things" kind of practicer, and charging through difficult exercises (i'm basically a jazz beginner). My girlfriend, who is taking piano lessons, was suggesting it might actually be not helpful / detrimental to take that approach. So i am wondering if anyone knows of any kind of studies, or research that talks about learning vs. time vs. brain absorption. Is there a point where your brain gets too tired to learn anything after 1/2 hour? 5 hours? That kind of thing. I'm not looking for a medical paper, just an article or two. Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I don't know the studies, but I know as a teacher, when the point of frustration is reached, the learning usually stops.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    I don't know the studies, but I know as a teacher, when the point of frustration is reached, the learning usually stops.
    Oh so like immediately. No wonder lessons aren't paying off.

I agree about the brain shutting down during frustration. I was probably a little more hyperbolic than necessary but i do wonder what the diminishing returns curve looks like. Or if there is one.

User Info Menu

Don't know if this will help. As a former teacher, both music and classroom, sometimes it's good to start with several short periods. In my own experience, I could start practicing an instrument for 15 minutes, two, three or four times a day,and I would make some progress, Eventually, I could lengthen the practice times until I might be practicing 2 or 3 hours. The thing to remember is that you can practice practicing, and if you can make even a small bit of progress, it can encourage you to work harder, and thus take a bit more time, and build up those practice times. In most cases, one-half to one hour seems to be the longest a person could manage at one sitting.