The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
Posts 101 to 125 of 161

User Info Menu

I started sight reading late in life. It is a struggle.

I had a great teacher for the first 2 years age 10 and 11. Learned enough to play a little rock and roll.

Then I got a moron for a teacher (self taught) for the next 54 years.

In 2017 went to community college for music (1 year certificate). Had to unlearn a lot from the moron teacher.

Wished I had learned sight reading in the beginning.

Cosmic Gumbo summed it up.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by fep
    For those of you that are really weak at sight reading let me ask you a question...

Do you practice sight reading?

I've heard the various reasons why guitar is difficult to read on and therefore why guitarists are poor readers. I'm not buying it, I say those excuses are just rationalizations.

Like guitar; on the violin, the cello, the viola, you can play the same passage at various places on the instruments. Yet, those instrumentalists tend to be good readers.

The piano player has to read chords and bass and melody at the same time, pieces with much more complexity than guitar pieces. Yet, piano players seem to be the best readers I've run across.

I think it comes down to this...

Most guitarists don't practice sight reading. It's that simple.
    In terms of jazz, I reckon lack of practice reading syncopated rhythms

User Info Menu

Reading is great, I practice it whenever I can.

I was making money playing rock guitar long before I learned to read. Reading didn't seem necessary for the kind of music I liked. The sightreading guitar players in my local music marketplace seemed to be tired, fat old geezers who sat down when they played their big, clumsy archtop guitars with thick, unbendable strings. Not like me, or Jimi. So went the thoughts of an immature youth...