The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi all,

I'm interested in recording some of my arrangements professionally this year as I've never done it before. Ideally, I'd go in there and bang out a great improvised solo but I know that likely won't happen and I'll probably even play some clangers too.

Is the modern approach, like the olden days, still to play live, do a bunch of improvised takes, and settle for the best one? I've heard some incredible solos from modern players, absolutely flawless in execution and beautifully melodic, and it's mind boggling that they can play in such a pure manner in the studio environment, but I guess that's what makes them great. Does anybody overdub sections or solos? Or even semi or fully compose solos?

It seems like if you are going to put something out there that has your name on it, you want it to be best you can do, and that if you have an off day then it's money down the drain. Maybe "mapping out" a solo might be an idea if one is feeling the pressure.

What's everyone's approach to recording?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by acidskiffle
    Does anybody overdub sections or solos? Or even semi or fully compose solos?
    Sorry to disillusion you, but they do and they always have.

What's everyone's approach to recording?
    There are different approaches. It's very subjective. I think playing is playing and recording is recording. Nobody wants to hear the same mistake over and over. This may be anachronistic. Back in the day, music wasn't so easily available so I think people did listen to things over and over more than they do now. It's not easy to play a flawless take. My approach to studio trickery is "as little as possible, as much as necessary". However, I'm not trying to record improvised solos, not genuine ones and certainly not fake ones.

User Info Menu

Get the drum, bass, and rhythm guitar tracks down solid, overdub guitar solos and vocals.