The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 70

User Info Menu

Hi all I've been playing maj 3rds tuning for 5-7 years and I got to say this tuning might be the one to revolutionize the guitar playing world someday. Its a big claim I know but here I'm going to list the pros and cons as I experienced playing through this tuning.

Pros

Its symmetrical. So chords, arpeggios and scales are easier to learn on the fretboard as compared to standard tuning where you have to learn different shapes depending on where you are at. Literally 66% less work

Major and minor triads/arpeggios is literally 2 frets

Learning 3 note chord inversions is brain dead simple, just simply lower or raise the high/low note by 3 strings.

Shell Voicings are easy to come by as well as chord structures 1 4 7 and 1 5 7 (in all inversions too!)

Quartal and Diminished chord shapes are inverses of each other

The Chromatic Scale in position occurs within 4 frets so that means no stretching or shifting when playing through any scale.

There are 12 positions but you can look at it as having only 4 scale fingerings due to the unique symmetrical layout it provides.

Tight pianistic voicings are even more friendly to play

Improvising is more intuitive

More powerful Maj/min barre chords (Assuming you have a 7 string)

Easy to play in 12 keys

You can sometimes have alternate fingerings for closed chords and especially for open voicings.

You can play minor 2nd intervals in every string set without stretching

Unisons are easier to come by too with only a 5 fret stretch across the board

Having a grasp of intervals is so much more easier

If you play for a while in major thirds tuning you might be able to play any possible scale or arpeggio in position just from knowing the scale or arpeggio formula