The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 131

User Info Menu

Is there a commonly accepted definition of which characteristics music should have to be labeled "jazz"? Blues music seem to have a structural form and a basic scale besides a mood. But jazz ... what is the common denominator?
    Baden Powell, Al DiMeola, Joe Pass, Charlie Christian, Alan Holdsworth, Django Reinhard, Doug Raney, Wayne Johnson, Kenny Burrell, Wayne Kranz, George Benson and many more ... what do they have in common to qualify as jazz musicians?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Im not an expert. But I think jazz can be defined in some way. It has to be with the scales that are used, and also the rythims.

Its like "what is country?". My music theory is null, but I can tell what makes country to be country, and as I said, is up to the scales and the rythim.

User Info Menu

The historical common thread traditionally has been the distinction that improvisation, or real time composition makes up the primary substance of any "jazz" performance. Just how deeply one delves or in which tradition, what lexicon, what syntax or what semantic quality this language takes is very much the jazz performer's prerogative.
    There are many factions within this history and communities of jazz and some have stricter guidelines, but among the changing and wide ranging communities in my circles, it's the feeling that the solo, or the interpretive ownership of a performance that makes it jazz.
    Sometime Tommy Flannagan might play the head only in a performance but the decisions of harmonic and melodic interpretation make it his ownership. Sometimes Keith Jarrett might take a piece that is structured based on harmonic traditions, but the ordering elements come directly from those traditions yet they're totally his own compositions. That's jazz too. He made it.