The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

Hello everyone,

Long time lurker, first time poster. (Very grateful for this resource - I've learned a great deal about jazz perusing all the threads.) I am hoping you could provide some insight into my "situation". First, little bit of context:

I grew up in an Eastern European country, surrounded by Balkan folk (a whole lot of harmonic minor, phrygian mode, chromatic passages, and odd times). In my teens, I immigrated to North America, where I was gradually introduced to jazz. I was intrigued by its aesthetic and in my late 30s, I started learning its fundamentals, on my own, using all the resources available to me. Right now, I am fairly comfortable with arpeggios, scales, swing, and even some chord-melody. I am slowly building a 2 x 45m repertoire for a coffee shop/restaurant setting, using a combination of fingerpicking and plectrum playing (all alone, instrumental). But I have a problem: I am not learning nor am I playing any jazz standards. And I mean none.

Now, before you tell me what I already know (i.e. I need to learn standards), please hear me out first. I am not trying to dismiss the importance of jazz standards. I fully understand their pedagogic value, and of course their central place in the jazz idiom. So, having said that:

Even though I've listened to a lot of jazz, I experience very limited emotional response to the great melodies found within the standards. That is, although I find them very enjoyable, I will never hum those in the shower. However, all those melodies I grew up with, well, they're a big part of me. They are so deeply embedded in my heart and soul, that I will even sing them on my own (and I don't even sing.)