The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

My daughter, Rhona, is in the final months of her Masters Degree in Textiles at the Royal College of Art in London. Recently she was invited to take part in a collaboration with science students from Kings College London on the hippocampus, which is a tiny bone your ear. Its shape was seen by ancient Greeks as a cross between a horse and a sea creature, and it is this bringing together of two very different animals which caught Rhona's attention. She is explains it way better than I am doing at the moment. The drawings you see right at the start are her own.

From Rhona:

Synthetic Anatomy Collaborative Practice Pilot - A collaborative project between King's College Synthetic Anantomy and Royal College of Art students to encourage interdisciplinary dialogue between Arts and Science.
    I’m Rhona MacKillop and I’m a knitted textile artist from Edinburgh currently studying on the MA Textiles programme at the RCA and this is my response to a student's project that explored the potential anatomy of a Hippocampus.

Her current project is on the toxic chemicals used in the fashion industry which harm the factory workers. She takes the images of rashes and cancerous growths these workers suffer, using them as source patterns and colours for knitted garments. What initially looks like an attractive item of clothing is revealed to be the result of exploitation of underpaid workers from slum areas, forcing fashion addicts to question their support for the industry.

You know, it's not a million miles away from jazz...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Fascinating! You must be such a proud papa.

User Info Menu

[the hippocampus is part of the brain, isn't it? in the temporal lobe ..]

Cool video!

User Info Menu

Hey, I'm no scientist

Cheers, guys.

User Info Menu