The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Posts 51 to 68 of 68

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Fred Archtop
    ...In 1977 one of my Jr high school teachers made me discover Bob Dylan. After that, man, I had to play guitar.
    Interesting! Dylan had something to do with it for me too. It was about 10 or 12 years before that when I started playing guitar because I wanted to sing stuff like It's a Hard Rain and Masters of War. My older bro had a guitar and was playing those records. I was more musically endowed than him, having studied cello for a few years. He used to beat me up a lot. I got some revenge.

Very quickly I found Mississipi John, which led to Son House and Lightnin' and BB and Muddy and so on. Until I found Coltrane and Miles. By that time I was kinda stuck with the devilish contraption.

I sorta sidestepped the rock guitar thing of the 60s and 70s. Couldn't dig it. Never got the whole Guitar God thing. None of 'em seemed all that God-like to me.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by kris;[URL="tel:1096860"
    1096860[/URL]]This guitar looks like from old German factory.
    its branded as a Martin Colletti

joelf Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevebol
    ...or between my legs like a cello.

User Info Menu

Derek Bailey said the guitar allowed him to practice quietly, unlike horns.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Litterick
    Derek Bailey said the guitar allowed him to practice quietly, unlike horns.
    ...but he played quite loud on concerts.

User Info Menu

I was lucky, I guess, that both my mother and her mother played piano, though the rest of my family was decidedly not musical. I had piano lessons in elementary school, which was a good basis but I didn't really enjoy it. Then I started on trumpet in school band.