The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 5 of 34 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Posts 101 to 125 of 843
    Al Green. A soul singer from Arkansas. A reverend who after owning the charts began an equally great and longstanding Gospel career. Winner of 11 Grammys. Induction into the RNR Hall of Fame in 1995. Included in The Rolling Stones top 100 singers of all time. Known as the last great soul singer. there was only 1 Al Green. Here’s the tune he’s known for, Let’s stay together.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

Barry White. The Maestro. It’s shocking he only won 2 Grammys for he had 4 albums that topped the charts. Barry was a self taught player and learned to read music and produce on his first album. He never looked back and the world was his oyster. His performance owned the Merv Griffin Show. This tune defined him in 1974. Reaching number 1 on Billboard is Barry and his Love Unlimited Orchestra. Here’s Love’s Theme.

User Info Menu

my favorite Al Green tune...

Here’s Donny Hathaway’s live version of What’s Goin On, and The Ghetto which features many great players in their own right. His live version of WGO is a brilliant arrangement that’s a respectable nod to Marvin Gaye.

This tune has Philadelphia International Records all over it. Here’s Teddy Pendergrass with his sermon to love in 1971’s I Miss You.

Here’s another soulful ballad from 360 degrees of Billy Paul. I’m gonna make it this time.

A child, with a golden voice, 10 years old in 1970 leads his older brother’s on a musical quest. Michael Jackson led the airwaves both as a kid and an adult. Here’s Multi Grammy winners with their I’ll be there.

Quote Originally Posted by Phil59
    I really liked many Motown songs back in the day. And still do. And still listen to them. All popular, maybe too "commercial," not "sophisticated," according to some. So be it. But great songs nevertheless. Almost all are from the 1960s. Topping the list are:

Contours: Do You Love Me