The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 76

User Info Menu

I apologize if this question pushes anyone's buttons. Definitely not my intention.

I just turned 65. I've been making music for over 50 years. Always as a creative outlet, never professionally. I didn't play much while my children were growing up, but got back into it around the turn of the century as they were going out on their own.

When I resumed playing guitar in the early `00s and played what I had played in the past (classic rock, folk and blues), I found it boring and repetitive. Ditto a lot of contemporary pop and rock. I became interested in jazz mainly for the expanded musical vocabulary.

While the study has benefitted me as a musician, I still don't feel that I can adequately explain jazz as a genre. I see everything from traditional big-band jazz, to New Orleans jazz, to bop, fusion, free, ... and I'm finding it difficult to understand why these are all under the same umbrella. I mean, just consider the first and last items on my list: big-band and free jazz. To me, they seem diametrically opposed, yet they're still "jazz".

How can I usefully understand this?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

According to the internet...

Polyphony means more than one part indicating simultaneous notes with independent melodic and rhythmic interests within and between parts.

Homophony means no such independence; multiple parts move in the same rhythm (chordal) emphasizing the concord and alignment between voices in the texture.

Monody means
    distinct or soloistic role of the main melody with emphasis on a single upper line of melodic interest, accompanied by instrumental parts filling harmonic texture.