Reply to Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Jumping from the "Joe Pass ain't all that" thread on the Chord Melody section to a question:

Is jazz an introspective, selfish, self indulged art form that has no respect for listening audiences in general? IOW, do jazz musicians play what they want ("their own thing", if you will) with no expectation of ever having any success at it (and success to me means monetary gains). It seems to me that jazz is a very small genre in the overall scheme of things and is followed, enjoyed, and, yes, purchased, by a relatively small group of followers (as opposed to blues, maybe). The opinion amongst the cognoscenti being that it's just too cerebral for the 'great unwashed' - same thing holds true for classical - the average 'Fred' or 'Betty' on the street is just not 'cultured' enough to understand it. When I started playing back in the early 60's, I started right away learning to play things that would entertain my friends and family (folk, Chet, some standards, etc.) and that would get me into a band where I could make a few $$$ and get girls (BTW, I met my wife of 44 years when she signed up for guitar lessons - she never did learn to play!). Still doing it for the money today which means I have to play what the great unwashed want to hear, and there's never a request I refuse to play if someone wants to hear it and I know it - whether I like it or not is immaterial - those people are paying my salary for the evening. Back in the early days of jazz (Satchmo, Bix, all the great Dixieland players, and up into the big band days) it was 'the peoples' music .... today, it pretty much requires an advanced degree in theory to understand it and most folks don't have that so don't even bother trying to listen to it. I think that's why Wes' pop albums were so popular - he was playing things people knew, but he was a labeled a 'sellout'.

Not sure where I was going with this - it was just something that crossed my mind.