The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 108

User Info Menu

Hey guys, I've been focusing a lot of my practice time on becoming a better improviser lately and I was curious if you guys could recommend me a book specifically about playing over jazz changes and that sort of thing. I've been playing for 5-6 years would consider myself an intermediate player but, only very recently started doing a harmonic analysis of "I Got Rhythm" I've took private lessons for 4 years and can read music pretty well. Any recommendations, thoughts, or advice would be great. Oh! and I play guitar

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hello Wig Iggy,

There are many approaches to learning how to improvise over jazz tunes. All of them are valid and have merit. I would like to introduce my approach that is based on using pentatonic scales for any chord, chord progression or song you would ever encounter. This is a "system" and therefore open to much criticism by jazz theorists. However, it will work and will complement your current style and level of development. With this system, it is impossible to play a wrong note. You don't have to worry about "avoid" notes. You can concentrate on the song. Also, it uses a strict two-frets-per-string approach that is very guitar friendly. I have written a book, "Jazz Guitar Soloing Concepts: A Pentatonic Modal Approach to Improvisation". A review of the book appears in the Nov 2009 issue of JUST JAZZ GUITAR. You can also read the review at:

Jazz Guitar Soloing Concepts: A Pentatonic Modal Approach to Improvisation Book Review

It is very important to me that people who buy the book are happy with their purchase. For this reason, I have a lot of FREE resources describing my approach--to make sure it is right for you. For more details on my approach, including book description, Table of Contents, articles and mp3s, please see my website at: