The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

My recipe (I am a rookie).
    Comping - Three note voicings and beyond Randy Vincent
    Soloing - Garry Fewell melodic approach
    Tunes
    Bert Ligon - Connecting...

User Info Menu

What are the books that helped you and inspired you the most in your playing and understanding the music? I've had and read a lot of books about guitar and general music theory, but when I think back, these would be the books that had the biggest influence on my playing:

- I don't even know the title of the first book, I copied it from a friend's copy when I was a teenager and starting to play the guitar. It contains explanations of the parts of the guitar (acoustic and electric), relation of notes between the guitar and piano, short tutorial on how to read music notation, diagrams with all kinds of chords, notation of some famous pop and rock hits, and on the end of it a part about how to play blues and jazz, explaining the basic rhythms and scales, with some music examples, and it was pure notation, no tabs or anything. It's too bad I don't know the title and the author's name of it, because now I would buy it just to have it, although I've outgrown it. It was a valuable source of information back then, when there was no Internet.

- "Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar" by Troy Stetina. Great book for introducing some discipline and developing technique and dexterity.

- "The Harmony Basics of Jazz" by the Macedonian author Ilija Pejovski. It helped me understand the basics of jazz harmony and reharmonization. I copied it from a friend while I was studying, and recently bought it from a street bookseller just to have it in my library.

- David Baker's "How to play bebop" series. Nice introduction to bebop scales, and some cool licks.

- The "Contemporary Chord Khancepts" by Steve Khan and Joe Pass' "Guitar Chords" got me going for comping.