The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 27

User Info Menu

I graduated from a college in New Orleans this last May (Tulane). I loved living there, and leaving made me nostalgic.

The summer of my senior year of high school was a big one, musically. My mind was blown with music by the Velvet Underground (old), Arcade Fire (new), and Miles Davis (virtually indescribable), among many other bands and genres. I had already fallen in love with the Beatles, but this summer my mind was truly opened to music in a way that happens only rarely to all of us.

I listened to a Kind of Blue for the first time, literally, as I was driving over Lake Ponchartrain into New Orleans. The moment the notes in "So What" hit me, I saw the skyline of Nola, my new home.

Everything changed.

I knew what jazz was, of course, but had no interest in it previously. This album changed everything. It WAS jazz. I will search my whole life, and nothing will have the impact of this album as the first time I heard it.

But that's ok. I'm loving the journey.

I know you must've had a moment, what was it?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

four brothers, manhattan transfer, on their album pastiche. 1977 or so.

i had listened to jazz rock in the 60's and early 70's, and in the mid 70's our local jazz station (gone now, sadly) played the stuff current then, which i dug (weather report, headhunters, return to forever, al dimeola, chuck mangione, grover washington, george benson, etc).

but that tune just blew my mind. still does. had to know all about it. who is jimmy giuffre. what the heck is 'vocalese', anyway? who were the four brothers ("zootin' it up")...still love mantran (they're great live), still love zoot...their incredible grammy winning disc vocalese (best vocal jazz of all time) similarly led to clifford brown, sonny rollins, benny golson...

User Info Menu