The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 36

User Info Menu

hi everyone, my name's Paul, I'm a recovering jazz guitarist who plays mainly upright bass these days. I've just recorded an album's worth of original material, and am currently mixing/mastering it for vinyl and digital release (no CDs).

This is my first album I've recorded as a leader, and definitely the first time I've done everything myself (including self-financing, luckily I have a good day job and no kids).

If you've recorded an album before, what advice do you have for me?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Only as someone that consumes media in the modern era, Bandcamp.

User Info Menu

I'm definitely planning to go with bandcamp. Since they're my compositions, I'll also need to use tunecore or songtrust or similar for publishing. I'm never expecting to make any money off this, but I do want to get publishing set up all the same. There's an infinitely small chance someone might be interested in licensing one of the tunes to use in something.

User Info Menu

Three things: 1) Copyright, 2) Copyright 3 Copyright

Also, Best of luck!

User Info Menu

Have you considered having a ISRC for the tunes? Just in case ISRC (International Standard Recording Code) helps you getting your money and track your music when it is played somewhere.
    I don't know how copyright laws work in the U.S.A. (quite different than Europe) but it's always good to get a licence for your music. If you play your music live or your record goes on the radio you'll get money for it (not a lot but you know...)

It would be good to have a bar code for your album (you'll look more serious, than you can give your cd to indie music stores etc...). You don't have to go through a label or publisher to get a bar code anymore. You can do it yourself via an online distributor (don't know any of them outside Europe sorry).