The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 36 of 36
    to me it does't matter how old you are it is what unfolds for you guitarist may what you be but what about the other things bandmates/money/wife/new car/travel/family.I know young guitarists that blend their music with family business if it is,nt the mainstay then you have adapt to other persuits when your time comes your there.richard

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I would say it depends how late. I, honestly think, 25 is probably the latest you can really pick up an instrument, with no previous experience, and really master it(unless you are just a one in a million talent-in which case why are you so late??). At 17, I would say its ridiculous to think yourself too old for anything. I started playing seriously at the age of 21, 5 years later, I've improved greatly(I have a great ear, and that helps). But you know at 21 I started college and then I got a girlfriend then I got married then I got a fulltime job. So I would say after 25 it is extremely hard, just because of time. The internet makes it seem almost too easy to really learn to play music(not just guitar). But when it comes down to it, you only get better by putting time in on the instrument. At 17, you can still pretty much do selfish things in life, like stay home all day and play guitar. So I would encourage you to start as soon as possible, you will get as good, as you want to. But hurry, my friend, because I can tell you 17 turns into 26 before you even know it.

User Info Menu