The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Posts 76 to 100 of 111

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick2
    Wow! And here I thought I was the only one who felt that way. The boring repetion of his left hand would sometimes drive me to thinking . . "please . . do something different". But, then other times I'd hear him play and realize that what I had heard in other songs was not due to any lacking in capability. Sometimes his left hand really comp'd beautifully. Other times it sounded like they just couldn't find anything else to play. But, hey . . I'm just a sub novice jazz guitarist being critical of a master jazz pianist. That in itself is kinda silly.
    I was saying it isn't boring...actually. Rhythmically, it's crazy, for example. And it's a lot more than stacked fifths harmonically, too.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    I was saying it isn't boring...actually. Rhythmically, it's crazy, for example. And it's a lot more than stacked fifths harmonically, too.
    Mis understood you. I've got to look for the two tunes where he just drove me fits with the lack of movement in what his left hand was doing. I'll spin one of them up, if I find them, then you can tell me if I'm just misinterpreting what he's doing. If so . . it wouldn't surprise me.

User Info Menu

Tough choice but it's between Art Tatum and Bud Powell.

User Info Menu

Maybe folks should think of it this way: (1) Who do I most want to listen to...who most inspires me? (2) Who would I most want to play with?

I am definitely most inspired by Bill Evans.

I would most want to play with Herbie Hancock. His style(s) would buoy my playing the most.

As I reflect back on the situations I have played in through the years, the best pianist I played with was a guy influenced heavily by Evans and Hancock.

User Info Menu