The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

View Poll Results: Shapes or notes? What, in your opinion, is more important?

Voters
226. You may not vote on this poll
  • Shapes

37 16.37%
  • Notes

32 14.16%
  • Both

143 63.27%
  • I kind of just fiddle around and hope to hit the right notes.

14 6.19%
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Posts 101 to 125 of 176

User Info Menu

I'm not actually that interested in KNOWING about grips. LOL. I figure it's just another term for what I already know.

When I studied and took lessons for jazz guitar, many moons ago, the technology and nomenclature was quite different. The music's the same. So I went ahead and developed my own teaching methods. I would look at books but never bought any as I didn't find anything new or really useful from what I already did. That's why I never knew anything about the CADGE system. Or CST. Not interested either. I was never a Berklee student. I sent many guitar players there and Eastman and IU and New School, etc. I find guitar "systems" funny.

But thanks. I'll check it out later.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

LOL! Thanks. Cool video. Grips.

User Info Menu

Most people voted "both" here, I think that sums it up. (another good reference for this question is The Advancing Guitarist).

"Shapes" are how scales are laid out horizontally across the fretboard - but - even if the diagrams are rendered in "dots" they also imply fingerings. So shapes are really "horizontal fretboard scale fingering patterns".

And yes, fingering patterns are very important, but far from complete. Why would we ever think that learning these basics would approach "completeness" in terms of musicianship?

One more tidbit - a grip is not a chord, not exactly anyway. Rather, it is a specific chord voicing, played on a specific string set, with a specific fingering. Hence, a specific "grip".

User Info Menu