The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

Hi, Guys!
    I have been playing a guitar for four years. However, I barely practiced for almost six months... Yeah, I know... I shouldn't have done that...
    I used to take lesson with Jazz guitar instructors in high school.
    Now, I am in college now, and try to teach myself.
    Since I came to college, I kinda stopped playing guitar, and two days ago, I started practicing. I decide to practice 3 hours everyday.
    My routine starts with an hour of playing scales and arpeggios with metronome. Next is an hour of playing materials from the book, "Complete Guitar Improvisation" by Vincent Bredice, The last is an hour of studying licks from books of Ted Greene, Pat Martino, Mick Goodrick, Joe Diorio and etc... and do some improvisation, transcribe, and learn some tunes...
    For scales and arpeggio's parts, nowadays, I am playing major scales and arpeggios in every positions starting from chord tones. Since it takes little long time. I do 3 keys of major scales and arpeggios each day. I play scales and arpeggios starting from 100 and til 208 in quarter note. So, I play scales and arpeggios in eighth note. And there's a problem here. After 208, I can't really go up... I am not sure how fast is really "fast"... When I finish all these major scales, I am planning to do different scales with same methods...
    For the Vincent Bredice book part, I select five pages and practice them until I can play them til 208 in metronome too.
    For the licks and improv parts, I try to play licks, songs, and solos til I can reach 208 in metronome.
    However, when I practice, I started questioning myself with routines.