The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

Anyone here ever take a break from playing? Like an athlete or someone on vacation? I haven't played in almost a week. I don't feel like playing. I've just been enjoying time with the family and doing work around the house. I feel like a normal person who comes home from work and does whatever. I have not done this in a long time.
    Last edited by Kman; 10-17-2011 at 10:08 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I've done a week, but that's about my limit, and that doesn't happen often. Once every couple of years maybe. And it's not because I don't feel like it, I usually just don't have time.
    I'm a contractor/carpenter by day, and sometimes I just get caught up with work. Long work days or physically taxing work, where I'm just too tired at the end of the day. Sometimes I have bids to write up in the evenings, or billing.
    I also do the major repair work for our local guitar shop in the evenings and on weekends. Fretwork, neck resets etc. So that gets into my time.
    Usually, after one of these breaks, my chops go downhill but my creativity goes uphill. Not necessarily a bad thing.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Kman
    Anyone here ever take a break from playing? Like an athlete or someone on vacation? I haven't played in almost a week. I don't feel like playing. I've just been enjoying time with the family and doing work around the house. I feel like a normal person who comes home from work and does whatever. I have not done this in a long time.
    Whatever works is fine. I'm at the opposite especially since becoming a member here. Obession. There is tons of awesome stuff that's feeding my obsession and helping my playing. Matt's generous sharing is giving me loads to work with. Good luck with your hiatus. You'll probably come back with a new outlook when you're ready.

User Info Menu