The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

I've been trying to work through what I know is a pretty simple song, but I'm quite new to this and to jazz guitar in general. I've got some of the chords, thinking it starts with an Ab Maj7, but I could really use some help figuring out the progressions if anyone is willing. Anything would be amazing. Thanks.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by AdrienL
    I've been trying to work through what I know is a pretty simple song, but I'm quite new to this and to jazz guitar in general. I've got some of the chords, thinking it starts with an Ab Maj7, but I could really use some help figuring out the progressions if anyone is willing. Anything would be amazing. Thanks.

This is how I am hearing it. If any of these are different from what you have so far, let me know. Hope this helps.

Abmaj7 Ebm7 F7
    Bbm7 Cm7 Dbmaj7 C7
    Fm FminMaj7 Fm7 Dm7b5 G7
    Cm7 Cdim Bbm7 Eb(9)

Abmaj7 Ebm7 F7
    Bbm7 Cm7 Dbmaj7 C7
    Fm FminMaj7 Fm7 Fm/D*
    Bbm7 Eb(9) Cm7b5 F7
    Bbm7 Eb(9)**

Abmaj7 Ebm7 F7
    Bbm7 Cm7 Dbmaj7 C7
    Fm FminMaj7 Fm7 Fm/D*
    Bbm7 Eb(9) Cm7b5 F7
    Bbm7 Eb(b9)** Abmaj7

So the song form is two pieces where the second has a different last half. In the recording he sings through both, then repeats the second piece, first whistling, then switching back to singing to finish it.
    * Could also consider this as Dm7b5
    **He makes a change... the second to the last chord Eb(9) he changes to Eb(b9) for the very end of the song.
    Last edited by pauln; 10-28-2022 at 01:11 PM.

User Info Menu

I hear in the first verse

Abmaj7 C–7/b5/Gb F7

4 x 5 5 x x

2 x 1 3 x x

1 x 1 2 x x

B–7 C–7 Dbmaj7 Dbmaj7 C7

x 1 x 1 2 x

x 3 x 3 4 3

x 4 x 5 6 4

x 3 2 3 x x

F– F–/E F–/Eb D-7 [no b5!!!!] G7

x x 3 1 1 1

x x 2 1 1 x

x x 1 1 1 x

x x 0 2 1 x

3 ? ? ? ? ?

[more to come]

EDIT: That should of course have been a Bb–7