The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 31

User Info Menu

Since restarting jazz guitar again in February I've also restarted transcribing music (whereas when I was playing classical guitar, I studied counterpoint).

By 'transcribing' music of course I mean figuring it out by ear and writing it down.

But, I have to admit to using youtube's function which enables one to change the speed of the music. Does anyone else use this?

The reason I've started this thread is I half-remember hearing somewhere that it was best to not slow down music when figuring it out. And to be sure, about ten years ago when I didn't even own a computer, I did manage to write down Miles Davis's solo on Straight No Chaser from his Newport 1958 album - though it's not too difficult or fast, just from the CD.

So, should I feel guilty about using the slow-down function? What does everyone here do where transcribing is concerned? I admit I'd find the temptation to use this function too hard to resist!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Since Transcribe! many musician and professional trancribers use slowing down. If you are transcribing, there is no need to feel guilt, feel the opposite, you are doing a usefull and positive thing.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by James W
    Since restarting jazz guitar again in February I've also restarted transcribing music (whereas when I was playing classical guitar, I studied counterpoint).

By 'transcribing' music of course I mean figuring it out by ear and writing it down.

But, I have to admit to using youtube's function which enables one to change the speed of the music. Does anyone else use this?