The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

Hey!

I don't think there is such thread here - been around for years by now. So, maybe it could be a good thing to have.

I was wondering how many people even have such crazy goal and what did it take to get to the point of playing just by ear... and also, what parts of the playing then - melody? impro? comp?

----

I've been doing this on/off for 5-6 years now and I remember it seemed impossible for 2 first years at least. The next 2 it seemed possible but sounded like crap. Last years, now it seems it was worth doing it this way.
    Now, when focusing well, it seems that really the ears become the boss and in the minds eye, I've started to "see".. or imagine the stuff (those learned bits and pieces) without ever looking on the fretboard.. and not even forcing this to happen.
    It's a strangely satisfying feeling and can honestly suggest people to try this.. although its a loo...oong way to achieve anything.
    But then again, I'm not too talented..

But yeah, any good experience in this matter?
    Last edited by emanresu; 12-07-2020 at 08:42 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It's always a goal to play by ear. It's my goal but you need to ask what "just by ear means". Hear something, know where you are on the piece, play a sound you imagined? That's pretty standard for a player who does it a lot. But it's not easy to get to, I admit!
    I've played with people who play "strictly by ear" and sometimes it's really expressive, but an idea can be one that doesn't respect the piece. Playing by ear is something that I think comes from learning to listen with awareness, and being aware of form and knowing how to get the sounds you hear from the instrument. Really, most of the people I know that play professionally do play by ear, with a very informed ear!
    Hope you're successful. It feels great when you get there!